New Faculty Orientation: Pro-Rata & Fulltime

Wednesday, 16 August 2017

8:30 AM – 12:00 PM

Creekside South (CRSO) 130

8:30-8:45           Welcome & introductions

new faculty biographies

Prof. Cliff Boggs, Business

Prof. Laurie Culshaw, Art & Design

Prof. Alan Frost, Architecture

Prof. Chris Lauriat, Architecture

Dr. J. Scott Nelson, Clinical/Mental Health

8:45-9:00           Judson University: Vision & Mission

Dr. Jhennifer Amundson, Architecture & Associate Provost for Faculty

1968 Statement of Purpose

University Mission Statement & Educational Goals

Community Standards

Faith Identity Statement & Ten Spiritual Qualities

9:00-9:30           Faith identity & Baptist heritage

Dr. Robert Wallace, Biblical & Theological Studies

9:30-10:00         General Education Curriculum

Dr. Jim Halverson, History

General Education Framework & Requirements

10:00-11:00        Institutional Organization & Logistical information

Academic Organization

Logistical information and legal issues

Course planning and syllabus content

                            Overview of Student Success Center, Library, and referral system

short break

11:00-11:40        Welcome from the mentors; integration of teaching and faith

                        Prof. G. E. Colpitts, Art and Design (Laurie)

                        Prof. Sean Gallagher, Architecture (Chris)

                        Dr. Pete Sandberg, Mathematics (Scott)

                        Dr. Dave Sanders, Christian Ministries; Chair, MLM (Cliff)

                        Dr. Gillian Stewart-Wells, Co-Dept. Chair, DLIT (Alan)

short break

11:40-12:00        Welcome from University leadership

Dr. Lanette Poteete-Young, Associate Provost of Academic Curriculum

Dr. Will Friesen, Provost and CAO

Dr. Gene Crume, President

12:00                Adjournment; photographs followed by mentor/mentee lunches